Doris Matsui
Doris Matsui
Candidate, U.S. House California District 7
Congresswoman Doris Matsui has been the Sacramento region’s U.S. Representative since 2005 and is running to represent California’s new 7th Congressional District. As a Member of Congress, Doris works to ensure that the voices of her district’s constituents are heard in Congress, and fights for the needs of the Sacramento region. She represents the issues that are important to all in the region, including creating jobs, improving economic security for working families, ensuring access to affordable, quality health care and education, supporting our seniors, and improving the Sacramento region’s flood protection and transportation infrastructure.
Doris was appointed to the important House Energy and Commerce Committee in 2008, and also serves on the health, energy, technology, and environment subcommittees. As a member, she crafts legislation addressing the critical issues facing our nation today, including health care, energy policy, technology, consumer protection, food safety, environmental quality, and American manufacturing.
In addition to her committee work, Doris holds leadership positions in a number of Congressional Caucuses, where she works on issues important to Sacramento and the nation. She serves as the co-chair of the Congressional Task Force on Seniors, co-chair of the Congressional High-Tech Caucus, co-chair of the Sustainable Energy and Environment Caucus, and vice-chair of the Congressional Women’s Caucus.
After growing up on the family farm in the Central Valley, Doris met her husband, the late Congressman Bob Matsui, while attending the University of California, Berkeley. She later worked as a member of President Clinton’s transition team, and served in the Clinton Administration as Deputy Assistant to the President.
She has a son, Brian, and a daughter-in-law, Amy. Doris is happily married to Roger Sant and has two young grandchildren, Anna and Robby.
Receive updates from Doris Matsui
Unsubscribe whenever you like with one click.